Conscious Connections of the IQBC

26th Conscious Connection of the IQBC – June 26, 2024
7 pm CEST/1 pm EDT/10:30 pm IST

Kaushal Ranasinghe
Kaushal Ranasinghe

Topic: The Hellenistic Influence on Buddhist Art and what it Means in Our Practice
“The basis of art is change in the universe.” -Matsuo Basho

Guest facilitators: Elizabeth (she/her) and Jampa phD (they, them)

Interactive Session

Elizabeth explains: „Autobiographical statements are awkward for me. There are the checklist items: mother, teacher, devotee of Bodhisattva Tara, and practitioner of TM. But the core of my practice is a need for the peace that only spirituality brings. It is like a merchant travelling the Silk Roads. There is the promise of success if the journey is finished and a bit of pleasure awaits at the end of the road but in the meantime, there are deserts to survive and crevasses in mountains not to fall in. And then even at the end of the journey, there are more journeys until the final journey. Like that merchant, I need something to hold onto. I need Bodhisattva. I need meditation. I need a spiritual life. The fearless and the foolish may not but I know the perils of the journey. I need Bodhisattva.”

Jampa is a learning coach, rapper, and artist or painter with more than 100 paintings in her digital atelier.
Realizing the need for a safe space for queer Buddhists, having been bullied in their Buddhist communities worldwide, they founded the International Queer Buddhist Conferences shortly before the pandemic. Since 2021 the IQBCs have become an annual event.

Please register with this link, fill out, and answer the question, and I will approve.
The Conscious Connections will be a regular zoom event until the 4th IQBC in Fall 2024. If you’re interested, send an email to info@iqbc.org.

25th Conscious Connection of the IQBC, May 30, 2024
1 pm CEST/7 am EDT/4:30 pm IST

Kaushal Ranasinghe
Kaushal Ranasinghe

Topic: Contemplating Hope Meditation and Art

Guest facilitators: Sibling Yonten and Jampa Wurst (phD)

Sib. Yonten (they/them) is a self-ordained Buddhist monastic (2017) who’s root traditions are in the Tibetan Kagyu lineage (2008). Though from 2014 has been following teachings of Ven. Thich Nhat Hanh & the Plum Village tradition. Their walking of the Buddha’s path started in 1999 when they attended 3-day Lojong teachings in London, offered by HH the 14th Dalai Lama. They is a Neuro-Diverse & disabled person, a military veteran & part of the 2SLGBTQIA+ community also is the representative for PVUK’s newly forming ‘Inclusion circle for Disability and Neurodiversity’.

Jampa is a learning coach, rapper, and artist or painter with more than 100 paintings in her digital atelier.
Realizing the need for a safe space for queer Buddhists, having been bullied in their Buddhist communities, they founded the International Queer Buddhist Conferences shortly before the pandemic. Since 2021 the IQBCs have become an annual event.

Please register with this link, fill out, and answer the question, and I will approve.
The Conscious Connections will be a regular zoom event until the 4th IQBC in Fall 2024. If you’re interested, send an email to info@iqbc.org.

24th CC of the IQBC – April 25, 2024 
12 am CEST, 3 pm PST/6 pm EST

Kaushal Ranasinghe

Topic: Images that Inspire

Guest facilitator: April Sun (her, she)

April Sun (her, she) is a retired Transwoman that resides on the central coast of California.

“I can say I am inspired by the photos I take. As I live through my journey I feel the images I capture tell a story, a story the viewer can create.  What does a
visual snapshot in time mean to you? What do you feel, what does an image say to you?  You get to create your own story.  Photography to me is an expression of my way of living.”

23rd CC of the IQBC – March 21,
1 pm CET, 8 am EST, 5:30 IST

Kaushal Ranasinghe
Kaushal Ranasinghe

Topic: Mountain Meditation and Art

Guest facilitators: B Leavitt, they, them and Jampa Wurst, they, them (phD)

B. is a gender-fluid bisexual who holds a 200-hour certification from the Institute of Integral Tai Chi and Qigong and has been leading various practice groups for about 10 years. B. is the parent of 2, an attorney and, if you’re not looking, they may eat your ice cream. Currently, they is giving a Qigong course at loftgaycenter.org.
B will guide the “Mountain Meditation”.
Venmo: @benben214

Jampa is the founder of the IQBCs and their conscious Connections and on the artistic side, Jampa is not only a rapper but also a painter with more than 100 paintings in their digital atelier. For further details about them, s. iqbc.org/organizer-2023/
Jampa will show a painting inspired by a previous “Mountain Mediation” held by B.

22nd CC of the IQBC – February 27, 2024
7 pm CET, 1 pm EST, 10 am PST, 11:30 pm IST

Kaushal Ranasinghe

Topic: Dance

Guest facilitator: Kaushal Ranasinghe

Kaushal Ranasinghe, a fervent refugee activist in France since 2022, leads The Pact’s global advocacy, focusing on HIV, LGBTIQ, and human rights. They amplify voices, notably youth refugees at the ICPD30 Europe Regional Meeting. As Uproot Scorecard Project Coordinator, Kaushal manages initiatives in eight countries in 2023, leading UPR processes with UNAIDS in four key countries in 2024. Originating from Sri Lanka, they founded Youth for Tomorrow, actively influencing high-level policy changes, including removing penal codes targeting homosexuality. Kaushal’s journey as an HIV-positive LGBTIQ individual adds a personal and powerful dimension to their resilient and empathetic activism. Kaushal is a former journalist and dancing & Yoga teacher too. They won 7th place of Sri Lankan dancing TV competition (City of Dance – TV Derana)

21st CC of the IQBC – January 24, 7 pm CET, 1 pm EST, 10 am PST

Elias VanDette (they/he)

Topic: Poems

Guest facilitator: Tatiana Adams

Hello everyone my name is Tatiana my pronouns is she/her/hers.And I’m
calling from NYC 22 years of age and my favorite thing to do is to write
poems and read poetry because of how poetry can symbolize so many things
and it could lead to see universal message.

Skip to content